Wednesday 25 July 2012

Moloch - Isolation Der Essenz

Isolation Der Essenz was originally released by Ukrainian black metal entity Moloch in late 2010. It was released in a number of different formats as well as digitally. This particular version was reissued by Polish label Black Dominion Productions, earlier this year on100 pro CDr's and includes two bonus tracks that were not on the original pressings.


1. Depressive Visionen eines sterbenden Horizonts
2. Wenn der Herbsthimmel ergraut ist
3. Die letzten Strahlen der Sonne verblassen in der Kälte der Apathie
4. Ferne Wälder gehen im tiefen Herbstnebel verloren
5. Das Leben ist wie ein verwundeter Vogel der langsam vom Himmel fällt
6. Isolation der Essenz
7. E.khu
8. Meine ganze Hoffnung stirbt

The opening track, entitled Depressive Visionen Eines Sterbenden Horizonts, immediately shows off the ambience that Moloch puts into their music, with that semi-melodic intro. The majority of the song is instrumental, with occasional spoken word and screams in the verses. All the lyrics are also in German, as are the song titles on the record, which add an industrial coldness to the music.

All instruments are played by Moloch's sole member, yet thanks to the good production sound clear and precise. The percussion that sits underneath the droning guitars pounds out a mid-paced rhythm, only interrupted by subtle cymbal crashes and other percussion.
It all ends with some lonely plucked bass guitar, before silence. The piano of Wenn Der Herbsthimmel Ergraut Ist is very placed and provides a moment for quiet contemplation. It's not what I was expecting to hear amongst an ambient black metal album, but is welcome variation. It shows that Moloch is also a very accomplished composer and multi-instrumentalist.

The black metal rears it's head again during Die letzten Strahlen der Sonne verblassen in der Kälte der Apathie. This time with a low-end rumble and ice cold screams. Once again, Moloch's trademark maddening screams unsettle you with every breath. Ferne Wälder.... is another piano song, which is used more as a instrumental interlude but still sounds great in it's own right. Das Leben Ist.... is a shorter song, but still employs plenty of droning low-end riffs to carry it. The guitar is the mainstay of the record in fact, with the percussion and vocals seemingly playing around it.

The title track was the last song of the original 2010. release. This is one of the noisiest songs on the record. Not due to the volume but the way the fuzz of the guitar makes it sound like a whole orchestra of guitars. It closes out however, for the last two minutes or so with some ambient strings, which is another mainstay of Moloch's more ambient sounding records.

The first of the bonus tracks on Isolation Der Essenz is entitles E.khu and is another mainly instrumental piece, featuring lowly choral singing in the background, underneath the piano melody. Meine Ganze Hoffnung Stirbt is the last salvo on this record. It's another ambient instrumental song, featuring a brass instrument that I can't quite make out, as the main instrument. This is a long, winding song, weighs in at just over 25 minutes in length. It brings to a close, what has been a varied and interesting album.

Moloch always surprises me with the way he can switch between more traditional, cold black metal and calming ambient music and retain a high level of integrity. The music always seems to flow very well.

You can stream this record, minus the last song via Moloch's Bandcamp page below -

Also, he has it up for free download on that page too. If you'd rather a physical copy, you can purchase it via Bandcamp or via Moloch's own website at

Moloch can also be found on Facebook at

No comments:

Post a Comment