Thursday 22 June 2017

Dying Fetus - Wrong One To Fuck With


1. Fixated On Devastation
2. Panic Amongst The Herd
3. Die With Integrity
4. Reveling In the Abyss
5. Seething With Disdain
6. Ideological Subjugation
7. Weaken The Structure
8. Fallacy
9. Unmitigated Detestation
10. Wrong One To Fuck With

Tomorrow sees the release of the eighth full-length from US death metal legends Dying Fetus, which is their first in five years. The Baltimore trio returns with "Wrong One To Fuck With" on Relapse Records and judging by the cover art and new logo, they're taking things in an even more extreme direction! That's just fine as they're about to hit the States as part of this year's Summer Slaughter Tour alongside The Black Dahlia Murder and others, as well as playing our very own Damnation Festival in Leeds in November. 

In a world that’s rapidly becoming overcome with slam-death and uber-technical yet clean death metal, it requires a legend like Dying Fetus to focus the mind slightly. US death metal has certainly been more prominent in recent years than it’s European cousin, often unfairly so. This time it’s completely justified. DF show straight from the off on Fixated On Devastation that they mean business. They put their experience to the cause with scathing drumming, skillful guitar and low growls that take more from the old-school. Their breakneck approach to death metal proves a veteran level of confidence on Panic Amongst The Herd. There’s also no need to over-complicate matters with long songs and that’s shown in the accuracy of their songwriting and instrumentation. Die With Integrity begins like any early 00’s metalcore album and shows why they’ve been such a strong influence on bands since then, before the shackles are broken and off-kilter, sweeping guitar takes over alongside intense percussion and furious barks. Never has the word “extreme” been more apt. Reveling In The Abyss is probably the closest you’ll get to “slam” on the record. It seems to be slightly slower than the songs that preceded it but that’s just because anything that isn’t warp speed is slow in DF terms. Drummer Trey Williams is a machine. They forego the atmosphere of the previous song when launching headlong into Seething With Disdain. In fact, seething isn’t a bad way to describe the emotion that’s pouring out of the song. The ability to stop on a dime and make you think that the song is over, before going off on a different tangent is impressive too. It’s hard to way Seething… ends and Ideological Subjugation begins but the blur of rabid brutality makes up for it. There’s a catchy element to the latter with picked treble from the guitar and breakdowns that don’t sound like breakdowns. Weaken The Structure could be a euphemism for weakening of your constitution due to the gnarly low-end that kicks off the song. The low-end features throughout the song and indeed the whole album and shakes all in it’s path. The rhythm is neck-snapping during Fallacy and by this point in the record, if you’re still in one piece you’re doing well. Penultimate song Unmitigated Detestation breathes new life into this flagging writer (because I’ve had a busy day up until now) and as it switches though myriad time-signatures, you’re reminded once again of the proficiency that lays before you. DF leaves the title-track until the end and with it the most (danceable?) song on the album. I use that term loosely though, but you may get where I’m coming from. It’s all in the opening passage before they return to more familiar territory. There’s a lot to like about “Wrong One To Fuck With” and DF’s ability to breathe life into death metal is undoubtedly appealing, A super strong album from a band that shouldn’t be producing anything less. 

You can stream the first three tracks from "Wrong One To Fuck With below:-

It's currently available for digital/physical pre-order and will go on general sale tomorrow via Relapse Records at the same link.

Dying Fetus -
Relapse Records -

No comments:

Post a Comment