Sunday 23 November 2014

From Her Eyes - Demons EP

Over the years, Bridgend has been somewhat of a breeding ground for great UK hardcore and metal. Bullet For My Valentine helped to introduce a whole generation of kids to metal and Funeral For A Friend (still one of my favourite bands) were able to take post-hardcore by the scruff of it's neck and turn it into something really meaningful and honest. It's no surprise then that the town in producing more bands, hoping to follow in their footsteps.

From Her Eyes are a new metalcore band that formed in 2012 and released their debut EP "No Place Like Home" a year later. Since then, they've been honing their sound and playing live as part of a bustling local scene, sharing stages with the likes of A Skylit Drive and Continents. From Her Eyes released their second EP "Demons" in August and are starting to build a pretty big buzz.


1. Decay
2. Comatose
3. Porcelain
4. Disillutionist
5. Elysium
6. Demons (Ft. Lucas Woodland of Falling With Style)

From Her Eyes are very much influenced by modern metal and hardcore, as the atmospheric opener Decay shows. It features great, dramatic drumming that is matched with melodic guitar. Comatose follows the instrumental opener with technical guitar and death-esque screams. From Her Eyes add something extra to the current modern-metal formula and sound really assured in their delivery, even this early on into the EP.

They show that their song-writing can be both sensitive and strong during Porcelain. From the measured intro to the barrage of riffs that greet you, there’s melody and dissonance in equal measure. The rest of song follows in similar fashion, with epic verses and introspective passages that keep the intensity going. They’re helped out by the solid mixing and mastering job on Demons. The volume helps Disillusionist leap out at you and there’s not a heavy reliance of breakdowns in the song either, so From Her Eyes don’t sound bloated.

Elysium is an interlude of sorts, though it still carries enough momentum leading into the closing title-track. They welcome vocalist Lucas Woodland from fellow Welsh post-hardcore band Falling With Style for this one. Demons is probably the strongest song on the EP for me. It features the same amount of melody and rhythm but seems to have a grittier and more majestic edge. Woodland’s clean singing contributes to that edge.

From Her Eyes have written a very strong EP here and sound more mature and assured than I was certainly expecting. They’ve got a big future ahead of them if they can maintain this energy and focus. It’s a pretty competitive part of the genre they’re in, especially with the number of similar bands in UK at the moment, so From Her Eyes have to get out there and show people they can work hard and do it themselves, if they’re to get signed and reach the next level. On this showing though, that will happen.

You can stream and purchase Demons digitally below:-

From Her Eyes Facebook -

No comments:

Post a Comment