Monday 28 December 2015

Khthoniik Cerviiks - Heptaedrone Tape + SeroLogiikal Scars (Vertex Of Dementiia) CD

It looks like Iron Bonehead Productions will be amongst the hardest working labels in 2016, judging the promos I've already received in my mailbox. That's nothing new though! The first promo featured the new record from German black/death band Khthoniik Cerviiks. They've been a unit since 2013 when their previous bands (Zuul and Ignis Uranium) split up. They released two demos prior to their first official release (Heptaedrone) through Iron Bonehead Productions in mid-2014. To give me better perspective on KC's newest album, I've decided to first review the Heptaedrone tape.

Heptaedrone Tracklist:-

1. Khthoniik Cerviiks Exhalement
2. The Grand Sidereal Swindle
3. Colliding Spheres Bend Solar Years
4. Elektriik Redeemer
5. Magmatiik Moil
6. Black Hole Neurotransmission
7. Moraines Of Molten Light (Khthoniik Cerviiks Inhalement)

Heptaedrone was released across two tape pressings and a 12" vinyl pressing via Iron Bonehead. Heptaedrone opens with the nerve-jangling instrumental Khthoniik Cerviiks Exhalement. It’s followed by The Grand Sidereal Swindle, which contains raw and martial black/death metal. The opening riffs from the guitars are hypnotic and are repeated throughout. It’s off-kilter, the drums is chaotic and the guttural growls are deep and disgusting. Their’s is a concept and sound that takes some getting used to, especially (if like me) you’re one of the uninitiated. Yes this is fierce, but actually it’s not as hard on the ears as I first thought it would be. Colliding Spheres Bend Solar Years (great song title) is equal parts driving black ’n’ roll (ala Motorhead/Dodsferd) and swirling death metal, while being thoroughly progressive. The songs contained on Heptaedrone are not short-sharp-shocks. With the exception of the opener, none weigh in at any less than five-minutes in duration. Khthoniik Cerviiks are obviously comfortable with this and Elektriik Redeemer screams along at a pace that keeps you hooked while the overall feel of the song doesn’t allow you to get too close. You’ll want to keep this at arms length to prevent any unwanted psychological damage! The belligerent use of cymbals during Magmatiik Moil highlights KC’s affection for metallic mayhem. They switch from sprawling death metal to NWN! inspired black metal with ease as Black Hole Neurotransmission. The long instrumental builds up and overall musicianship seems to grow in stature as the tape progresses. At times there are also hints of the Industrial veil that shrouds many German extreme acts. If you just sit back and allow Black Hole Neurotransmission to take hold, you’ll be duly rewarded with what could be the standout-song on Heptaedrone. That being said, there is no let up in the pace or the atmosphere as Moraines Of Molten Light (Khthoniik Cerviiks Inhalement) give KC one final vessel in which to corrupt. There are so many elements at play here. KC end proceedings in assured fashion with riffs still ringing in your ears and penetrating your subconscious. Quite an introduction then!

SeroLogiikal Scars (Vertex Of Dementiia) Tracklist: - 

1. Schizophradio (KC Exhalement 2.0: Technocide Inertiia)
2. SeroLogiikal Scars (Sequence 1.0: Vertex Of Dementiia)
3. Miindwrecked (Project Eigengalaxy)
4. Biinary Epitome (Spyder's Web)
5. SeroLogiikal Scars (Sequence 2.0: Veiled Viiral Vektor)
6. Cranial Leftoverture (Angel's Pyramiid)
7. Voiidwarp (KC Inhalement 2.0: Meta Material Monolith)

SeroLogiikal Scars is due for a vinyl release in early 2016. If you thought Heptaedrone was a bit crazy, then SeroLogiikal Scars promises to be even more left field. Album opener Schizophradio (KC Exhalement 2.0: Technocide Inertiia) begins with robotic/sci-fi samples and instrumentation, before KC properly kicks into gear. It’s wholly instrumental and it seems that KC has found more musical cohesion here. SeroLogiikal Scars (Sequence 1.0: Vertex Of Dementiia) demands your attention with more blasting and occasional grunts. Once again, KC plays expansive black/death metal while maintaining their place within the avant-garde camp. Things seem less industrial as well. There’s little or no time for pauses as Miindwrecked (Project Eigengalaxy) begins. Here, the band takes the metallic elements that were present on Heptaedrone and repeats them, but with more control and sensitivity (if that’s possible from a black/death horde!). Despite being the same length (song-wise) as it predecessor, SeroLogiikal Scars feels like more of a journey. It’s a journey that surprises you though, as the semi-acoustic intro to Biinary Epitome (Spyder’s Web) will attest. It switches between up-tempo rhythms and lurching passages with no regard for the listener and that’s before you even get started on the off-kilter grandeur that’s present. There’s also more of a concept to this album, as SeroLogiikal Scars (Sequence 2.0: Veiled Viiral Vektor) highlights. The song itself is more martial at time and keeps momentum high. The ambient riffs that below the vocals are really pleasing on the ear and once again nod towards the band’s black metal influence. Cranial Leftoverture (Angel’s Pyramid) is the most expansive song on SeroLogiikal Scars. KC really invest all of their energy in the song and it very much feels like the culmination of all their efforts both musically and emotionally. It’s a mighty step forward from Heptaedrone. Voiidwarp (KC Inhalement 2.0: Meta Material Monolith) ends the album with a quick and haunting blast of ambience and with it, all resistance is extinguished. 

SeroLogiikal Scars is not yet streaming online, but keep checking Iron Bonehead's bandcamp page in the new year.

Physical copies and pre-orders can be found via Iron Bonehead's online store here -

Khthoniik Cerviiks Facebook -
Iron Bonehead Productions Facebook -

No comments:

Post a Comment