Thursday 17 March 2022

Feed The Corpses To The Pigs - This Insidious Horror

Labels: Horror Pain Gore Death Productions

Formats: CD/Digital

Release Date: 15 Oct 2021


1. Separate

2. Ghost Of Winter (ft. Rick Ross from Death/Massacre)

3. Jesus Is My Respirator

4. The Death Of Expertise

5. Trapped Spirit

6. I Drink Myself To Death

7. The Ocean Sings Of Murder (ft. Jelly from Void Dancer)

8. Out Of Sync

9. Flashpoint

10. This Fucking Horror

It's hump day, I'm on annual leave and getting down to some jams! Getting back on track with my review schedule even though I'm not fully immersed in 2022 releases yet. Feed The Corpses To The Pigs released This Insidious Horror, their debut album, back in October of 2021 after signing to US extreme metal label Horror Pain Gore Death Productions. There was a limited CD run made available by HPGD for the Albuquerque, New Mexico quartet that promptly sold out. If you missed out on a copy, it's available digitally too. I've had it on my list of releases to write about for a while, so let's not waste any more time.

Feed The Corpses To The Pigs counts ex members of obscure US extreme metal bands Cicatrix and Cambodian Death Squad amongst their ranks, as well as a current member of Gravework. Those names may not mean much to you but it’s always nice to learn about a band’s lineage. Moving onto This Insidious Horror, you’re greeted by metal with all the extremities! Album opener ‘Separate’ is a mix of death and black metal with thrash riffs, and even keyboards?! I’m sure that’s what I’m hearing in places, but then again it probably isn’t. There are a couple of guests joining Feed The Corpses… here with the first being Rick Rozz of Death/Massacre fame on ‘Ghost Of Winter’. He provides his experience and guitar prowess to a song that’s filled with crazed intensity from start to finish. Old-school in the best way possible!

In amongst all of the heaviness and extremity, there’s plenty of catchiness on This insidious Horror. If you like horror-punk and a keen sense of humour then look no further than ‘Jesus Is My Respirator’. It’s another quick-fire number, which is the MO of Feed The Corpses To The Pigs. That’s exhibited even further in the blistering grind of ‘The Death Of Expertise’. Equal parts neck snapping and slamming with a very apt sampled excerpt at the end.

’Trapped Spirit’ is spooky to begin with but soon settles back into what this record is about. Intense tempos, galloping bass, head-crushing/squealing riffs and genuinely frightening vocals. There is a brief moment of calm as the album’s first half comes to a close, but it doesn’t last long. ‘I Drink Myself To Death’ is where this band really shows off their musical chops for me, even though it follows the same formula laid down so far. Being able to write and perform something this fast, yet also keep it fun and entertaining is a hell of a skill, and the fact that the lyrics are audible (just like they are throughout) gives it more accessibility.

There’s great continuation into ‘The Ocean Sings Of Murder’, which feature guest vocals from Jelly of Void Dancer, a local Albuquerque band. At this point, I want to mention that the engineering work on the album was done by Will Putney of Fit For An Autopsy no less. That’s significant because This Insidious Horror really benefits from a production that brings out the musical and song-writing skill of all members. ‘Out Of Sync’ is in one of hell of a rush compered to ‘The Ocean Sings Of Murder’. It’s fast and punchy, but still engrossing at the same time. Hats off to that!.

In what seems like no time at all you’re listening to penultimate song ‘Flashpoint’ and it’s gargled/barked vocals. The mixture of chunkier riffs and grindcore is a reminder that metal really doesn’t need to be pigeonholed into different sub-genres, even if it serves a purpose. Metal is metal and however heavy you like it, it’s gotta be enjoyable snd this is! Ending with ‘This Fucking Horror’, you’re hit with the most pummelling and lengthiest song on the album. Both the dynamics and the length of it only lead to one place, which is a place of pain (mainly because the eagerness to mosh to it is so strong). 

Sometimes, writing about a record in a live setting (not literally but as it plays) can lead to things not making sense. This review does not do this release justice, so you’ll just have to listen to it for yourselves. I love it and Horror Pain Gore Death.

You can stream and purchase the album digitally here:-

Feed The Corpses To The Pigs -

Horror Pain Gore Death Productions -

1 comment:

  1. Thank you for the awesome review! No keyboards were used in the album, but... we are doing a collaboration with Misstiq that should be out in a week or two and she is cranking out some keys! Once again, a wonderful review. Thank you.