Wednesday 3 July 2024

Cape Light - A Discography

Labels: Zegema Beach Records

Formats: Tape/Digital

Release Date: 31 Jan 2019


1. Senbou

2. Sei-shinka

3. Mushisareru

4. Chigai

5. Yowatari

6. Mukishitsu

7. Kotaewohitsuyoutosurusekainiikiru

8. Machigaeteirunohaitsumobokuda

9. Tooihiwakasundeikizanzoudakeganokoru

10. Nanimokaesukotonodekinaibokuwowaraudarouka

In January 2019 Zegema Beach Records released a limited tape of the discography by Japanese emo/post-hardcore band Cape Light. The tape gathered together songs from their initial 3songs cdr, their split tape with compatriots 5000 and four songs that made up their newest (last?) EP back in 2018. I'm only learning now that members of Cape Light, 5000 and Careless formed Komuso; a band whom I first discovered thanks to Left Hand Label (the sister label of Dog Knights Productions). The tape release was limited to just 50 copies with 40 on grey and 10 on platinum silver shells. 

Ten quick-fire post-hardcore songs with all of the Japanese flair and intensity are dropped here. A perfect way for those unfamiliar with Cape Light to hear their output. Opener ‘Senbou’ has everything from raw, organic percussion to angular yet anxiety-inducing guitar work and typically harsh vocals. There’s an obvious reason why ZBR jumped on this.

‘Sei-shinka’ follows without as much as a pause, continuing the momentum and intensity while adding more melody, as well as greater pensive post-hardcore tones. It’s dramatic in the way that only Japanese bands seem to be. Excellent stuff so far. ’Mushisareru’ was the final track from Cape Light’s early 3songs EP and it’s genuinely wild. Filled with modern punk-like guitar/percussion and shout-along vocals, which kind of remind me of Funeral For A Friend’s ‘The Art Of American Football’ 

Next you’re propelled straight into the songs from the 5000 split starting with ‘Chigai’, which is instantly faster in tempo and chaotic in tone. There’s no let up during ‘Yowatari’ either. After what sounds like an intro played using pots and pans (of course it isn’t, it’s just the live recording), Cape Light turn up the heat with treble-heavy riffs and fast/slow dynamics throughout. Add in pulse-raising screams and you’ve got something really special.

‘Mukishitsu’ featured as the last song on Cape Light’s split tape with 5000, which was their second and last physical release (if Discogs is to be believed). Emoviolence of the utmost insane is coupled once again with exceptional use of melody and post-hardcore/metal, in typically bright fashion.

The final four Cape Light songs pull no punches as ‘Kotaewohitsuyoutosurusekainiikiru’ kicks off instantly with off-kilter tempos that are way more obvious than before. Maybe it’s the short song-length but it’s mathiness alongside the raw recording make it very addictive to listen to. 

‘Machigaeteirunohaitsumobokuda’ is another song-title I’m not even going to try and pronounce (out-loud anyway). Cape Light harnesses so much beauty within their heaviness. Groovy, punk-like rhythms sit side-by-side with noxious riffage at times. You’re definitely not far away from dissonance and chaos.

Cape Light’s explosive take on screamo really comes into it’s own on penultimate song ‘Tooihiwakasundeikizanzoudakeganokoru’. It goes by way too quickly if I’m being honest. If you get distracted and take your ear off this song for all of a second, you’re missing out big time. Subtle nods toward Envy make themselves heard during the song’s latter half and the mix of quiet/loud dynamics just work really well.

Discography closer ‘Nanimokaesukotonodekinaibokuwowaraudarouka’ hits you square in the face as Cape Light delivers their final blast. Listening to this release in full is the best way to appreciate it. Unfortunately, due to life getting in the way I haven’t quite been able to do so. I’ll be righting that wrong in the not-to-distant future. What I can say for certain is that this deserved such a release, albeit limited. Does it deserve a repress? Definitely. Will it get one? Only time will tell.

You can stream and purchase the discography as a name-your-price download below:-

Discography tapes are long sold out.

You can also stream and download their releases from Adabana Records here -

Zegema Beach Records -

No comments:

Post a Comment