Tuesday 22 December 2020

Vi Som Alskade Varandra Sa Mycket - Den Sorgligaste Musiken I Världen

Labels: Blood Of The Young/Zegema Beach Records/Moment Of Collapse

Formats: Vinyl/CD/Digital

Release Date: 06 Oct 2014


1. Leva Som Sno

2. Det Liv Vi Ville Ha Var Inte Det Vi Fick

3. Storm Och Längtan

4. Vi Gar Och Gar Och Har Sonder

5. Ett Hjartats Svedjebruk

6. Alfa Och Omega

7. Vi Som Forsvann

8. Illusionen Om Oss

This review has been a little delayed (though some would say a lot delayed, as it the record it focuses on was released way back in 2014). Either way, my slow march through the Zegema Beach Records roster continues and today I'm writing about the first full-length from Sweden's Vi Som Alskade Varandra Sa Mycket, which was released on vinyl by both Canadian label Blood Of The Young and the aforementioned ZBR (who may have been located in New Zealand at the time, though I'm not quite sure about that fact), as well as on CD by Moment Of Collapse.

Today marks part one of my two part Christmas break, which is much needed if a bit short. Things still aren’t normal here, as with everywhere but I’m just going to try and make the best of it. Obviously, things are always better with music and the melodic post-hardcore of Vi Som… is exactly what’s needed. Opening song ‘Leva Som Sno’ is very atmospheric when set against the gloomy backdrop outside my window. While the vocals are screamed in Swedish, they’re not crazy and the instrumentation flows and builds nicely. Even after they mid-way point when the volume increases, it stays atmospheric. Amazing emotional post-hardcore so far. Given that we’re in a time where it’s difficult to spend time with loved ones, this album really ramps up your own emotions, while the stillness and calm created by ‘Det Liv Vi Ville Ha Var Inte Det Vi Fick’ is palpable, even when the dissonance and vocals kick in. It’s more akin to a shoegaze-like song instrumentally as it draws you in with every bar and note. 

It’s impossible to type over the top of such great music but I have to carry on. ‘Storm Och Langtan’ goes through various movements, ranging from the quiet building intro, to heavier parts and catchy, upbeat verses. Despite it being nearly six-minutes in length, it goes by very quickly for a mid-tempo song. This album may be an example of a band in their infancy but it doesn’t sound like it. It’s very assured and mature. This review has been written in two sittings, as I’ve not quite been in the right frame of mind to write today but ‘Vi Gar Och Gar Och Gar Sonder’  has done enough to lift me up again. For some reason the screams are all the more heart-wrenching now and the music also, which somehow seems to magnify the frailties of our own mind. 

It’s actually quite amazing how differently you interpret music based on your mood. ‘Ett Hjartats Svedjebruk’ begins as a slightly mournful piece before melody lifts it up and it becomes lighter, albeit for a moment anyway. It slows again during the mid-section, before picking up again just when you thought it had ventured further down. It’s these rollercoasters that give Vi Som’s… music such feeling. ‘Alfa Och Omega’ has a totally different feel to it. A more upbeat and punchier one from the get go. Even when everything tempers down and settles into something more stripped back, it still produces a ray of light that justifies its shorter playing time. There’s all kinds of debates on social media about whether this sort of music should be classed as hardcore, screamo or emo at the moment. I don’t care what it’s called really. It doesn’t matter as long as sounds this good.

There are elements of both La Dispute (specifically, maybe?) and black metal flowing through penultimate song ‘Vi Som Forsvann’. Those elements make it a really endearing listen. My earlier comparison may seem a but random but if you give it the time, you’ll understand why. Vi Som… uses album closer ‘Illusionen Om Oss’ as a bit of a wake up call, with probably their most dissonant and feedback-laden song on Den Sorgligaste Musiken I Varlden. Said feedback gives it a sense of chaos, alongside the mix of time-signatures, percussion and passionate screams. Above all though, there’s the realisation that this album is more than just the some of it’s parts and indeed, so is Vi Som… 

This album is exactly why I love digging back into the early careers of bands and why this review series exists. Please, spend some time with this and If you want to, please tell me how it makes you feel. I’m sure it’ll be a story worth telling.

You can stream and purchase the album digitally below:-

Vi Som Alskade Varandra Sa Mycket - https://www.facebook.com/visomalskade

You can buy physical copies from the labels below:-

Moment Of Collapse Records - CD - https://kollektif.eu/screamoemo/51187-vi-som-alskade-varandra-sa-mycket-den-sorgaligaste-musiken-i-varlden-cd.html

Moment Of Collapse Records - vinyl - https://kollektif.eu/screamoemo/50318-vi-som-alskade-varandra-sa-mycket-den-sorgaligaste-musiken-i-varlden-lp.html

Blood Of The Young Records - https://www.facebook.com/BloodOfTheYoungRecordsPress

Zegema Beach Records - https://www.facebook.com/zegemabeachrecords

Moment Of Collapse Records - https://www.facebook.com/momentofcollapse

No comments:

Post a Comment